As one of the most basic requirements of a developed economy, the Education NKEA takes a multi-faceted approach to addressing the country’s education needs.

During the year, three new EPPs were formed to address market demand. These comprise EPP 14: Building a Games Development Cluster; EPP 15: Establishing Branch Campuses for Foreign Universities; and EPP 16: Establishing Not-for profit Education Institutions.

The Games Development Cluster, created in 2012, will focus on two areas – creating awareness for Malaysia as a games development hub and developing talent to meet industry demand.

KDU University College, as the project lead, and Codemasters Studios Malaysia signed a Memorandum of Understanding in January 2012 to collaborate on the creation of a curriculum for game development that ensures students graduating from the programme are sufficiently prepared for the competitive job market.

Under EPP 15, Heriot-Watt University (HWU) established its second international branch campus in Putrajaya last year. While work on HWU’s 20,000 square metre campus is ongoing, the university first commenced operations with an MBA programme in September at a temporary site in Putrajaya. The official campus in Putrajaya, Malaysia then opened to students in the early part of 2013 when the school launched its global MBA programme from Edinburgh Business School.